Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Quite A Life

Real People


Released: 28th Sep 2018


Featuring Appearances By Aloe Blacc, Del Tha Funkee Homosapien, Gift Of Gab, Galactic, & Chali 2na Comes Bundled With A 2-Sided Insert With Photos & Liner Notes, Plus Download Card.

“Recalls a time when hip-hop was almost invariably fun... moment when hip-hop, pop, R&B and a sing-along hook rolled together as one.” NPR Music // “The finest trad-funk vocalist of the new century” Vice // ”...what’s been missing for far too long in hip-hop” Popmatters // As the first Asian-American solo rapper to perform at Lollapalooza and Coachella, and to release a greatest hits record, LYRICS BORN has broken through countless barriers to cement his illustrious career. Now, on September 14th, on the cusp of acting appearances in acclaimed films as Sorry To Bother You, and the upcoming Always Be My Maybe, he will be the first Asian-American solo rapper to release a 10th album -- a record of funk and soul woven into classic, boom-bap Hip Hop called Quite A Life via Mobile Home Recordings. Quite A Life features a legendary line-up of guest musicians, including the heavily buzzing artist Aloe Blacc ("Brooklyn In the Summer", "I Need a Dollar", Avicii's "Wake Me Up"), Del Tha Funkee Homosapien, Gift of Gab (of Blackalicious), Galactic, and Chali 2na (of Jurassic 5). LB comments, “Aloe was incredible. I've known him for 20 years and watching his career develop has been super inspiring. I couldn't have asked for a better line-up - I'm very thankful to all of them and am here whenever they need me.” Quite A Life also embraces and ruminates on the hurdles that have followed Lyrics Born through his life and career -- Asian-American representation in the entertainment industry, the responsibility of men to help correct social imbalance, the massive complications and emotional strain that follow a loved ones cancer diagnoses, and even defining what it means to be a "Blue Collar Artist". “Ten albums is a lot for an indie artist who has always colored outside the lines” says Lyrics Born. “Because Asian-Americans are perhaps the most underrepresented ethnic group in show business, I have had almost no footsteps to follow in over the years. This is why I'm so honored to be one of the emergent among us to be able to co-create that legacy. I don't want it to be as difficult for others that look like me, whose names end in vowels like me, as it has been for myself. I'm just appreciative there was always somehow a path for me, no matter how impossible it seemed, either on paper or in practice. We have greatness to contribute to the world, and we're finally seeing breakthroughs.”

Quite A Life


  1. Chocolate Cake
  2. When I Get My Check ($, $, $) (feat. Chali 2na, The Gift of Gab & Jojo Velarde)
  3. Clap Your Hands (If U Know You're Beautiful)
  4. Same But Different (feat. Sister Sparrow)
  5. Don't Quit Your Daydream
  6. Trouble Trouble Trouble (feat. Jojo Velarde)
  7. In Case Of Fire (feat. Galactic & Kelly Finnegan of Monophonics)
  8. This Is A Man's World?
  9. Is It Worth It? (feat. Forrest Day & Del Tha Funkee Homosapien)
  10. Can't Lose My Joy (feat. Aloe Blacc)
  11. Baby I Made It (feat. Trey Privott of Los Coast)