Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Actress X London Contemporary Orchestra


Ninja Tune


Released: 25th May 2018


2lp + download

Released: 25th May 2018


the level of intricate, electronic mastery at work here is astounding! actress has outdone himself with an incredibly ambitious record that tempers his more challenging, atonal excursions with more melodic, almost relaxing orchestral manipulations.

The music creates a synergy between both live electronic and acoustic components, not just in the harmonies but in the way the traditional instruments were spliced into new hybrid instruments. As part of the process, Actress and LCO augmented traditional piano and created sounds from objects as varied as temple bowls and plastic bags. For the album, LCO recorded the individual instrumental parts as stems at Spitfire Studio then sent them to Actress to manipulate, in turn delivering some truly unique new pieces. fans of gazelle twin, autechre and Dedekind cut will adore this!



1.            Lageos                
2.            Momentum                      
3.            Galya Beat                         
4.            Chasing Numbers
5.            Chaos Rain                        
6.            Surfer's Hymn                  
7.            N.E.W.                
8.            Audio Track 5                   
9.            Voodoo Posse, Chronic Illusion
10.          Hubble