Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Crooked Man

Crooked House



Released: 26th Oct 2018


2lp + download

Released: 26th Oct 2018


Speaking about the album’s lead track, ‘Take It All Away’, Crooked Man says: “It’s about not being suffocated under the mountains of useless crap that Mammon shits into every crevice of modern life… quite possibly the world's only anticonsumerist disco song.

” The elusive Crooked Man returns to DFA with ‘Crooked House’ LP, a maximalist take on electronic and house music that picks up where 2016’s self-titled album left off. Teaming up again with Michael Somerset Ward (Clock DVA) and David Lewin (Bleep & Booster) in the studio, Richard Barratt crafts a comprehensive journey of hi-fi house belters with more sinister electro-pop mixed in for good measure. The album is influenced by two historic epicentres of electronic music: Sheffield UK, where Richard has had an illustrious career in a mix of legendary groups like Funky Worm, Sweet Exorcist and The All Seeing I; and the NYC Loft-era disco sound, where extended grooves were layered with peaktime choruses. Richard’s diverse collaborations and intensely prolific discography have now led him to records as lush and sophisticated as ‘Crooked House’. Considering the rarity of a live Crooked Man performance or DJ set, it’s a testament to his hyper-creativity that these tracks are able to reach new heights in a club setting. With support from disco historian Bill Brewster and NTS resident Ross Allen, it’s clear that ‘Crooked House’ brings a timeless vitality to the current landscape of dance music and continues an exciting new chapter in Crooked Man’s career.

Crooked House


  1. Every Killer Need A
  2. Friend
  3. Here On Earth
  4. Make Up
  5. Turnaround
  6. Walls
  7. Take It All Away
  8. Long Time Dead
  9. Echo Loves Narcissus
  10. Robots