Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Nadah El Shazly


Nawa Recordings

clear lp + download

Released: 10th Nov 2017

out of stock

an otherworldly record, this blends elements of avant jazz with imposing electronic manipulations to create an unsettling, but majestic, experience.

Opening with the mangled & filtered vocals of the album’s lead track ‘Afqid Adh-Dhakira’ (I Lose Memory) like an alien dream, the drones of a bowed double bass lead us into a drum groove that lays the groundwork for her sultry & captivating presence. Her Arabic prose lingers over interjections of slap-back delayed guitar twangs & an avant-garde arrangement of dissonant winds, horns & seemingly random drum fills, ending with an eerie soundscape that wouldn’t feel out of place in a Giallo classic. her haunting vocal floats over broken Kalimba & Harp arpeggios which slowly intertwine with a free, bowed double bass improv to nestle within the breaks. For fans of umfang, emel, laurel halo, jlin, mary ocher, or Karen gwyer, to name a few.



  1. Afqid Adh-Dhakira (I Lose Memory)
  2. Barzakh (Limen)
  3. Palmyra
  4. Ana 'Ishiqt (I Once Loved)
  5. Koala
  6. Mahmiya (Protectorate)