Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Hugh Masekela




Released: 11th May 2018


an absolutely crucial compilation this -- bbe have dug deep into the archives and brought out 14 rare or forgotten tracks recorded between 1965 to 1975 on the Chisa Records label.

it focusses on Masekela’s original idea of ‘African American Music’, mixing doo-wop, rhythm & blues and South African gospel. it adds Johannesburg Street Band  styles to the mix, as well as some Fela-influenced stuff, each track revealing a multi-pronged effort challenge notions of how African and American cultural forms interact. “In sum, there isn’t a weak moment on this entire collection. It’s appeal is wide and deep and one can only hope this is the first of many volumes of this material to appear. BBE Records has done a stellar job in making this slab available.” – allmusic



  1. Ojah with Hugh Masekela - Afro Beat Blues
  2. Letta Mbulu – Mahlalela
  3. Baranta feat. Miatta Fahinbulleh - Amo Sakesa
  4. Letta Mbulu - U Se Mcani
  5. Baranta with Miatta Fahinbulleh - Tepo
  6. The Zulus - Za Labalaba B4 The Zulus - Aredze
  7. Baranta with Miatta Fahinbulleh - Witch Doctor
  8. The Zulus – Joala
  9. Baranta with Miatta Fahinbulleh - Ahvuomo
  10. Letta Mbulu - Melodi (Sounds of Home)
  11. Baranta fet. Miatta Fahinbulleh - A Cheeka Laka Laka
  12. Johannesburg Street Band - Awe Mfana D4 Letta Mbulu - Macongo