Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Richard Youngs


o genesis

clear red lp

Released: 2nd Mar 2018


stark, detailed and arresting, the Glasgow native delivers a cycle of chamber songs – sublime gnostic pop from the outer realms of creativity for fans of Alasdair Roberts, this heat, and mount eerie’s more abstract moments.

The album itself began with Youngs collecting his own percussion samples: from handclaps, a battered old cymbal, an extractor fan vent, FM radio interference, cassette hiss and a kick from a disastrously ‘80s sounding drum machine. this is a haunting, impossible to categorise album for those looking for to be moved in new ways. “Imagine Richard Youngs as the junior member of a cabal of prolific and puritanical English musician-mystics, including The Fall’s Mark E Smith, Van der Graaf Generator’s Peter Hammill, Martin Carthy and The Clangers’ composer Vernon Elliot, and still his nature will elude you.” – stewart lee, “the postpunk autodidact’s postpunk autodidact” – The Wire



  1. My Own 21st Century
  2. Nebulosity
  3. Feeling Like Dystopia
  4. As The Mind Shrinks It Tends Towards Disappearing
  5. Bewilderment
  6. In Another Fog
  7. I Wasn't Alone
  8. Caledonia Running Out Of My Mind
  9. Can You Not See My Intensity?
  10. Otherwise Ourselves
  11. Great Breath Of Wonderment