Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Trans Am

California Hotel

Thrill Jockey Records

record store day exclusive 2017 - gold LP + download

Released: 22nd Apr 2017

out of stock

For Record Store Day 2017 Trans Am deliver a brand new vinylonly album featuring their first new material since 2014’s ‘Volume X’.

 Trans Am is a band that has never compromised. Originally from North Bethesda, Maryland, Trans Am is considered fathers of the instrumental post-rock sound of the 1990s.  Since then the band - Phil Manley, Sebastian Thomson and Nathan Means - has added vocals and spanned genres from metal to house to progressive rock. They exploited Casio keyboards for cacophonous lo-fi sounds. They played fully electronic sets when most of their contemporaries were sticking exclusively to guitars. They pioneered early millennium fad Electroclash. Today, they continue to set their own course.  On ‘California Hotel’, Trans Am borrowed ideas from My Bloody Valentine, John Carpenter, DAF, Led Zeppelin, Air, Sade and David Gilmore, among others. The result is an incredibly rich range of sounds that retain a pulsating energy.  ‘California Hotel’ was constructed in four one-week bursts that took place over two years deep in San Francisco’s El Studio. Bits and pieces of songs like ‘Expansions’ and ‘Alles Verbotten’ were recorded during live jams, lost due to unique file management and remerged for inspection and improvement – often multiple times.  In an effort to “get back to their roots” some songs were recorded live to analog tape. The basic tracks for most songs were recorded live, in an attempt to capture Trans Am’s “Xfactor Rock ‘n’ Roll serpent energy.” All musicians were playing in the same room at the same time with a minimum of overdubs. This decision was partly choice and partly necessity due to time constraints.  ‘California Hotel’ is released in a limited edition of 1,000 copies worldwide.  Limited to 500 copies for the UK and Eire.  The LP is pressed on gold vinyl with a free download coupon.

California Hotel


  1. I Hear Fake Voices
  2. Staying Power
  3. Ship Of The Imagination
  4. Alles Verboten
  5. California Hotel
  6. I Want 2b Ignored
  7. Expansions
  8. Rules Of Engagement