Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Townes Van Zandt

live at the whole coffeehouse, minneapolis, november 1973


limited clear lp

Released: 23rd Apr 2013

out of stock

townes the way he was meant to be heard: playing to a few dozen college students with nothing but his acoustic guitar & his own voice - beautiful.

the american singer/songwriter released a string of classic albums in the early '70s, marking what has been called his most prolific & creative period. however, van zandt notoriously often had difficulty getting the right sound in studio, & his voice was often overshadowed by elaborate production work that sometimes missed the mark. therefore, this lp, recorded at the university of michigan’s coffeehouse in 1973, is an essential addition to the van zandt discography. whether he was singing a quiet, introspective country-folk song or a driving, hungry blues, van zandt's lyrics & melodies were filled with the kind of haunting truth & beauty that you knew instinctively. his music came straight from his soul by way of a kind heart, an honest mind, & a keen ear for the gentle blend of words & melody that shines through best in this intimate setting.

live at the whole coffeehouse, minneapolis, november 1973


  1. I’ll Meet You In The Morning
  2. Cuckoo Song
  3. Hobo Bill
  4. Where I Lead Me
  5. Broke Down Engine Blues
  6. For The Sake Of The Song
  7. Molly And Ten Brooks
  8. Nothing
  9. Talking Thunderbird Blues
  10. Pancho And Lefty
  11. Mr. Mudd And Mr. Gold
  12. Tecumseh Valley
  13. The Ballad Of Ira Hayes
  14. (Quicksilver Daydreams of) Maria
  15. Tying Ten Knots In The Devil’s Tail