Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Leroy Hutson

Anthology 1972 - 1984

acid jazz


Released: 20th Oct 2017


2LP + download

Released: 20th Oct 2017


this represents his first official Anthology, and comes with an essay by soul expert Tony Rounce and memorabilia and photos from Mr.

Hutson’s own personal archive. A legend to soul fans, his catalogue has been increasingly sought after by collectors and producers since the last time it was widely available nearly 20 years ago. College friends and early collaborator with Donny Hathaway, then hand-picked as Curtis Mayfield’s replacement in The Impressions, his solo career resulted in 7 albums for Mayfield’s Curtom label. They are considered some of the greatest of the era and the very best music from them is collected here. The first single lifted to preview the album – the previously unreleased ‘Positive Forces’ has been championed at 6Music by Gilles Peterson who described it as one of the most important discoveries of the past ten years.

Anthology 1972 - 1984


  1. Cool Out
  2. All Because Of You
  3. Don’t It Make You Feel Good
  4. Love The Feeling
  5. Positive Forces
  6. Lucky Fellow
  7. Never Know What You Can Do (Give It A Try)
  8. Love Oh Love
  9. Ella Weez
  10. Could This Be Love
  11. So In Love With You
  12. I Think I’m Falling In Love
  13. Closer To The Source
  14. Give This Love A Try
  15. Right Or Wrong
  16. Now That I Found You
  17. Get To This (You’ll Get To Me)
  18. Lover’s Holiday
  19. Time Brings On A Change