Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

blind willie mctell

complete recorded works in chronological order volume 1

third man / document

ltd 180g lp

Released: 28th Jan 2013

out of stock

part 1 of third man's remastered vinyl  reissue of blind willie mctell's complete recorded works.

willie samuel mctell was one of the blues' greatest guitarists, & also one of the finest singers ever to work in blues. a major figure with a local following in atlanta from the 1920s onward, he recorded dozens of sides throughout the '30s under a multitude of names -- all the better to juggle "exclusive" relationships with many different record labels at once. the recordings presented in this reissue series are the building blocks & dna of american culture. blues, r&b, elvis, teenagerism, punk rock... it all goes back to these vital, breathtaking recordings. comes with brand new, jaw-dropping artwork by rob jones.

complete recorded works in chronological order volume 1


  1. Writin' Paper Blues
  2. Stole Rider Blues
  3. Mama, Tain’t Long Fo’ Day
  4. Mr. McTell Got The Blues (tk. 1)
  5. Mr. McTell Got The Blues (tk 2)
  6. Three Women Blues
  7. Dark Night Blues
  8. Statesboro Blues
  9. Loving Talking Blues
  10. Atlanta Strut
  11. Travelin' Blues
  12. Come On Around To My House Mama
  13. Kind Mama
  14. Drive Away Blues
  15. Love Changing Blues