Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Screamin' Jay Hawkins

The Complete Bizarre Sessions 1990-1994

Edsel Records

2CD digipak + booklet

Released: 18th May 2018


The legend that was Screamin’ Jay Hawkins needs little introduction.

He is probably most famous for writing and recording theoriginal version of “I Put A Spell On You”, covered with great success by Nina Simone, Alan Price, Creedence Clearwater Revival,Annie Lennox, Bryan Ferry, Arthur Brown, Bette Midler and many more. This release contains the three fabulous albums he made for the Bizarre label between 1990 and 1994 (and released by Demon in Europe): “Black Music For White People”, “Stone Crazy” and “Somethin’ Funny Goin’ On”. Also included are ten previously unreleased recordings from the original album sessions. The booklet features the full story of how the albums came about.

The Complete Bizarre Sessions 1990-1994


  1. Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t My Baby
  2. I Feel Alright
  3. I Put A Spell On You (Dance Version)
  4. I Hear You Knockin’
  5. Heartattack And Vine
  6. Ignant And Shit
  7. Swamp Gas
  8. Voodoo Priestess
  9. Ice Cream Man
  10. I Want Your Body
  11. Ol’ Man River
  12. Strokin’
  13. My Best Friend’s Girl
  14. Another Pain
  15. Strange
  16. I Don’t Know
  17. Who’s Been Talkin’
  18. I Believe
  19. Stone Crazy
  20. Last Saturday Night
  21. Call The Plumber
  22. I Wanna Know
  23. Sherilyn Fenn
  24. Late Night Hawkins
  25. On The Job
  26. I Am The Queen
  27. Somethin’ Funny Goin’ On
  28. I Am The Cool
  29. Whistling Past The Graveyard
  30. Rock The House
  31. Amy Fisher, Part 1
  32. Scream The Blues
  33. Brujo
  34. You Make Me Sick
  35. Amy Fisher, Part 2
  36. Give It A Break
  37. When You Walked Out The Door
  38. Fourteen Wives
  39. Amy Fisher, Part 3
  40. Upsettin’ Me
  41. Make You Mine
  42. Just For You
  43. Shut Your Mouth When You Sneeze
  44. Clam Bake