Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Dave and Ansel Collins


Doctor Bird


Released: 8th Jun 2018


Expanded version of one of the Trojan’s most popular long players.

Includes recordings new to CD. The duo are due to reunite on stage on a series of European shows throughout the summer of 2018 In the Spring of 1971, the wildly exuberant 7” single, ‘Double Barrel’ shot to the top of the British pop charts, resulting in Dave Barker and Ansel Collins becoming international celebrities almost overnight. The success of the disc was repeated throughout the world and was followed soon after by the best-selling LP of the same title. Within weeks of its issue, the duo’s equally vigorous ‘Monkey Spanner’ provided the pair with their second major global hit, although by the time the record hit the charts, Barker and Collins were back to working on their respective solo careers. While Barker, one of Jamaica’s most accomplished vocalists, relocated to Britain, Collins remained on the island, where his talents as a keyboard player remained heavily in demand throughout the remainder of the decade and into the next. Featured on this expanded version of the best-selling Trojan LP from 1971, are the UK Number One title track, the duo’s Top 10 follow-up, ‘Monkey Spanner’, and an array of sought after vocal and instrumental sides for the sessions with leading producer, Winston Riley.



  1. Double Barrel
  2. Wild Bunch
  3. Elfrego Bacca
  4. Monkey Spanner Version
  5. My Best Girl
  6. Secret Weapon
  7. I The Third
  8. That Girl
  9. Impossible Mission
  10. Ten To One
  11. I Can Count The Days
  12. Two Four One
  13. Double Barrel (Version 2)
  14. Monkey Spanner
  15. You Ain't Got A Heart At All
  16. Iron Joe
  17. I Feel Alive
  18. Doing Your Own Thing
  19. Point Blank
  20. Lonely Man
  21. Lonely Lonely Man Am I
  22. The Heart Of A Man
  23. La La La
  24. Your Love Is A Game