Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Quercus (June Tabor, Iain Ballamy, Huw Warren)




Released: 28th Apr 2017


it’s incredibly rewarding and fascinate to hear these folk-jazz-chamber reinterpretations of titanic classics.

‘Nightfall’ opens with the most famous of farewells in ‘Auld Lang Syne’, and gently breathes new life into it, leading us into a programme that includes Bob Dylan’s breath-taking ‘Don’t Think Twice’, the jazz standard ‘You Don’t Know What Love Is’ and the West Side Story ballad ‘Somewhere’, as well as original compositions by Huw Warren and Iain Ballamy and songs from British folk tradition, in stark and moving new arrangements. Quercus’s self-titled ECM debut won the album-of-the-year award of the German Record Critics in 2013, was widely praised by the international press, and especially celebrated in Britain where June Tabor has long reigned as “the dark voiced queen of English folk music” - The Times.




  1. Auld Lang Syne
  2. Once I Loved You Dear (The Irish Girl)
  3. On Berrow Sands
  4. Christchurch
  5. You Don't Know What Love Is
  6. The Manchester Angel
  7. Don't Think Twice It's Alright
  8. Emmeline
  9. The Shepherd And His Dog
  10. The Cuckoo
  11. Somewhere