Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Will Beeley

Passing Dream



Released: 7th Jul 2017


Tompkins Square will reissue two albums by Texas singer/songwriter Will Beeley - the self-released mega-rare (only 200 copies) private press LP Gallivantin' from 1971, and Passing Dream, originally released by Malaco Records in 1979.

Recorded in San Antonio, Gallivantin' shows Beeley's heartfelt, folky side - a wistful set of original tunes, plus a cover of Bob Dylan's "You Ain't Goin' Nowhere" and a spaced-out, 10 minute+ Eastern-influenced psych take on Buffy Sainte-Marie's "Little Wheel Spin & Spin / Co'Dine". Recorded in Jackson, Mississippi, Passing Dream reveals the shifting musical direction of opposite sides of the 70's - a tougher, huskier, more alt-country sound emerging, presaging modern day troubadours like Chris Stapleton and Jamey Johnson. Released by Malaco Records in 1979, the album features the very first studio credit by guitarist Larry Campbell (Bob Dylan, Levon Helm), along with drummer James Stroud (Marshall Tucker Band, Eddie Rabbitt), keyboardist Carson Whitsett (Paul Simon, Tony Joe White) and other crack studio players.

Passing Dream


  1. Standin’ At The Station
  2. Sailin’ With You
  3. Tell Me How Are You
  4. I Can’t Pretend Much Longer
  5. I Don’t Know What I’m Into (But I’m Into You)
  6. Rainy Sundays
  7. Circle
  8. I Saw Jesus Peekin’ Thru A Hole In The Sky
  9. Passing Dream
  10. As The Darkness Of The Heavens