Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Shirley Collins

An Introduction To



Released: 20th Oct 2017



Released: 20th Oct 2017


This collection draws together some of her most iconic recordings and serves as an essential starting point to those who have missed out on her work thusfar.

During the 1960s and ‘70s Shirley Collins was regarded by many as the first lady of folk music, and the subsequent decades have only served to enhance that reputation. After the release of ‘For As Many As Will’ in 1978 she withdrew from performing and the music world after developing dysphonia. Shirley recently returned to recording after a very long hiatus and is still widely acknowledged as one of the finest singers and ambassadors to have emerged during the Folksong Revival of the 1960s. Few singers of the English folk revival have attempted as much on record as Collins – an extraordinary combination of fragility and power.

An Introduction To


  1. The Foggy Dew
  2. I Drew My Ship (cd only)
  3. A Blacksmith Courted Me
  4. The False Bride
  5. All Things Are Quite Silent
  6. Polly Vaughan
  7. False True Love
  8. Spencer The Rover (cd only)
  9. The Sweet Primeroses
  10. Rambleaway
  11. March The Morning Sun
  12. The Cherry Tree Carol
  13. The Moon Shines Bright
  14. One Night As I Lay In My Bed (cd only)
  15. Come All You Little Streamers (cd only)
  16. the rigs of time (lp only)