Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

soft hearted scientists

Take Time To Wonder In A Whirling World


lp + cd

Released: 27th Apr 2018

out of stock

a welcome reissue of the band's 2007 powerful & psychedelic debut that has a constant feeling of togetherness - a trippy mixture of instrumental & vocal tracks drenched in folky sonics.

“Any band who sings about caterpillars, the Brecon Beacons and monsters called Yongy Bongy Bo risk, being so quirky they'd leave you reaching for a Misty's Big Adventure CD for respite. Yes the first album proper from these acoustic folk oddballs might suggest its makers bed down in a Glasto tepee every night, tucked in by a woodlan pixie, but to dismiss Cardiff's SHS as quirk over substance would be idiotic. Over Beta Band‐ish acoustics and cloudy chants , electro‐squiggles and instruments we couldn't even begin to name jiggle and hop, all neon highlighting the campfire brilliance of SHS's choruses. Yongy Bongy who?” Jamie Fullerton, NME, 2007.

Take Time To Wonder In A Whirling World


  1. The A470 song
  2. I Wanted You
  3. Light Years to Nothing
  4. Siberia
  5. Meet Me At the Milky Way
  6. Rockford's Return
  7. Eyes
  8. I'll Be Happy, I'll Be Sleeping
  9. Hawthorn
  10. Drops In the Ocean