Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Various Artists / Norman Jay MBE

Mister Good Times

Sunday best


Released: 25th Aug 2017


2lp + download

Released: 25th Aug 2017

out of stock

quite possibly the definitive soundtrack to summer 2017.

Norman Jay is undoubtedly one of the finest and highly respected DJs today and yet again pulls from his impressive collection to provide the ultimate soul / funk selection. Explaining his selection for this new ‘Mister Good Times’ compilation, Norman Jay MBE says: “These are all the sort of tracks that I’d play in the early morning sunshine whilst we were setting up at Notting Hill Carnival. It’s stuff that I’d play for myself before the crowds turned up. Just that classic Good Times mix with all the different elements I love: disco, Philly, James Brown, 90s hip-hop, reggae, etc.”


Mister Good Times


  1. Daylight - Vicki Sue Robinson
  2. Funky President (People It’s Bad) - James Brown
  3. Instant Love - The Main Ingredient
  4. Open Your Eyes - Organized Konfusion
  5. Our Day Will Come - Esther Phillips
  6. Short End Of The Stick - Loleatta Holloway
  7. Homemade Lovin’ - The Whispers
  8. Right Here - Shalamar
  9. Barry White - I Only Want To Be With You
  10. Lost Continent - The Peddlers
  11. California Soul - Rune Gustafsson
  12. Sweet Thing - Georgie Fame & The Blue Flames
  13. Vehicle - Ides Of March
  14. Get Yourself Together - Young Disciples
  15. On My Way Home - Eddie Kendricks
  16. Do What You Gotta Do - E3
  17. Build My World Around You - Slim Smith & The Uniques
  18. I’m Every Woman - Aretha Franklin