Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

smoove & turrell

Mount Pleasant

jalapeno records


Released: 29th Jun 2018



Released: 29th Jun 2018


Conceived as the middle album of a trilogy starting with their previous ‘Crown Posada’, this record showcases the evocative lyrics & voice of John Turrell alongside the glossy production skills of his partner in crime Smoove.

Craig Charles remains an enthusiastic supporter while Trevor Nelson featured the band on his Radio 2 show & described them as carrying the torch for modern British soul music. The Hawley-esque ‘A Deckham Love Song’ is an example of their nostalgia for a childhood growing up when, as John puts it, none of the kids knew they were poor because everyone was in the same boat. As always, social commentary plays a massive part in Smoove & Turrell's lyrics, with 'Hate Seeking Missile' written shortly after MP Jo Cox was tragically murdered. fans of barry white, lack of afro & alice Russell should check this out!

Mount Pleasant


  1. There for Me
  2. You're Gone (feat. Izo FitzRoy)
  3. Something Better
  4. Hate Seeking Missile
  5. Billie
  6. A Deckham Love Song
  7. I Feel Alive
  8. Mr Hyde
  9. Flames to Feed
  10. Love That Kinda Lie
  11. Small Town