Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


build a rocket boys



Released: 7th Mar 2011


cd (deluxe packaging edition)

Released: 7th Mar 2011



Released: 7th Mar 2011


elbow’s tale of a band who toiled & struggled for years, finally getting the breakthrough they deserved, is one of the most heart-warming stories in british music of recent times but perhaps the hardest task lay after the phenomenal success of ‘the seldom seen kid’ – could they really top their crowning moment? the gloriously symphonic, harmony-laden opener ‘the birds’ suggests so, as mid-way epic strings come cascading in, backing up guy garvey’s ever-sincere vocals. from here on they craft a beautiful set that’s striking yet intimate, lyrically reflecting on everyday people & life in their home town of manchester. indeed they retain their strong links to the town by featuring contributions from the halle youth choir, who add a john tavener-like intensity to tracks like ‘the river’. an astonishing record that, despite moments of grandeur, feels down-to-earth & honest, delivered by a band totally in their prime. “expansive yet intimate, anthemic yet unassuming, experimental yet accessible: elbow perform a sequence of difficult tricks without sounding like they’ve over-reached at all” 4/5 – mojo, “a quietly beautiful record” 4/5 – uncut.

build a rocket boys


  1. The Birds
  2. Lippy Kids
  3. With Love
  4. Neat Little Rows
  5. Jesus Is a Rochdale Girl
  6. The Night Will Always Win
  7. High Ideals
  8. The River
  9. Open Arms
  10. The Birds Reprise
  11. Dear Friends