Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


leaving eden



Released: 27th Feb 2012


the follow up to their grammy winning ‘genuine negro jig’ continues to breath life into old-time fiddle & banjo music.

produced by nashville stalwart buddy miller, this 15-song collection incorporates more overt blues & jazz elements & straight-up folk balladry alongside brilliantly rendered string-band tunes. the title track is an elegiac piece recounting the falling fortunes of a north carolina mill town, sung with plainspoken eloquence & underscored by mournful cello. they take an overtly bluesy turn on ethel waters' 1920's-era wry confession, ‘no man's mama’ & bring a hip hop-style, declamatory flair to the self-penned ‘country girl’.

leaving eden


  1. Riro’s House
  2. Kerr’s Negro Jig
  3. Ruby Are You Mad At Your Man?
  4. Boodle-De-Bum-Bum
  5. Country Girl
  6. Run Mountain
  7. Leaving Eden
  8. Read ’Em John
  9. Mahalla
  10. West End Blues
  11. Po’ Black Sheep
  12. I Truly Understand That You Love Another Man
  13. No Man’s Mama
  14. Briggs’ Corn Shucking Jig / Camptown Hornpipe
  15. Pretty Bird