Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

alasdair roberts & robin robertson

hirta songs

stone tape


Released: 18th Nov 2013

out of stock


Released: 11th Nov 2013

out of stock

a concept album of sorts, inspired by the people, landscape & history of the remote Scottish archipelago of St Kilda, in collaboration with Scottish poet Robin.

Much of the album sits in familiar Alasdair Roberts territory; exquisite contemporary folksong with a traditional slant which has Alasdair's distinctive voice & deft guitar picking at the forefront, but the weight of Robertson's words adds a new dimension, & the fascinating stories behind the music make for quite a journey. Several of the album's 10 songs are informed by Roberts' recent explorations into Scottish Gaelic music while The seed of the record lies in Robertson's 2007 visit to the islands, which he cites as one of the most extraordinary experiences of his life. Upon returning home he wrote the long poem 'Leaving St Kilda', but he knew that the islands weren't finished with him &, 6 years later, 'Hirta Songs' is the result.

hirta songs


  1. A Fall of Sleet
  2. Farewell to the Fowler
  3. Laoidh Fhionnlaigh Oig
  4. The White-Handled Knife
  5. the Plain of Spells
  6. Tuireadh nan Hiortach
  7. Leaving St Kilda
  8. The Drum Time
  9. The Well of Youth
  10. Exodus