Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


My Father Will Guide Me Up A Rope To The Sky



Released: 10th Mar 2014


there is great power in this music; it points at the margins of violence, but never quite gets there as gira's lyrics encounter the blind light of the divine & the bottomless heart of darkness.

this album is as powerful & diverse as anything gira’s ever done, in swans or otherwise. it opens with the epic soul crushing ‘no words / no thoughts’, but quickly veers to more pastoral terrain, then on to then to ever ascending monotonal grooves, a filmic folk idyll featuring devendra banhart on lead vocal, that abruptly shifts to cataclysm, then on to more airplane taking off ascensions, artsongs, & more lethal sonic pummelling. in short, this is a significant advance from where swans left off & as challenging & emotionally demanding as ever.

My Father Will Guide Me Up A Rope To The Sky


  1. No Words / No Thoughts
  2. Reeling The Liars In
  3. Jim
  4. My Birth
  5. You F*cking People Make Me Sick
  6. Inside Madeline
  7. Eden Prison
  8. Little Mouth