Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.



Tommy boy


Released: 2nd Jun 2003

out of stock

140g 2lp

Released: 1st Jul 2013

out of stock

The most inventive, assured, and playful debut in hip-hop history, '3 Feet High & Rising' not only proved that rappers didn't have to talk about the streets to succeed, but also expanded the palette of sampling material with a kaleidoscope of sounds & references culled from pop, soul, disco & even country music.

Weaving clever wordplay & deft rhymes across two dozen tracks loosely organised around a game-show theme, De La Soul broke down boundaries all over the LP, moving easily from the groovy my-philosophy intro 'The Magic Number' to an intelligent, caring inner-city vignette named 'Ghetto Thang' to the freewheeling end-of-innocence tale 'Jenifa Taught Me (Derwin's Revenge)'. If it was easy to believe the revolution was here from listening to the rapping & production on Public Enemy's 'It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back', with De La Soul the Daisy Age seemed to promise a new era of positivity in hip-hop.



  1. Intro            
  2. The Magic Number            
  3. Change in Speak            
  4. Cool Breeze on the Rocks            
  5. Can U Keep a Secret            
  6. Jenifa (Taught Me)            
  7. Ghetto Thang            
  8. Transmitting Live from Mars            
  9. Eye Know            
  10. Take It Off            
  11. A Little Bit of Soap            
  12. Tread Water            
  13. Potholes in My Lawn            
  14. Bad Girl            
  15. Say No Go            
  16. Do as De La Does            
  17. Plug Tunin' (Last Chance To Comprehend)            
  18. De La Orgee            
  19. Buddy            
  20. Description            
  21. Me, Myself and I            
  22. This Is a Recording 4 Living in a Fulltime Era (L.I.F.E.)            
  23. I Can Do Anything (Delacratic)            
  24. D.A.I.S.Y. Age