Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Courtney Pine

Song (The Ballad Book)



Released: 16th Mar 2015

out of stock

The most stripped back and intimate release of his long career, Pine’s 16th album is a collection of ballads performed on bass clarinet accompanied only by the jazz piano of fellow Mercury nominee Zoe Rahman.

Comprised of both originals by Pine and compositions by Donny Hathaway and Edward Howard, Duke Ellington, Sam Rivers, Thad Jones and Brian McKnight, ‘song (the ballad book)’ is understated yet extremely powerful throughout.

Song (The Ballad Book)


  1. Beatrice
  2. A Child is Born
  3. Amazing Grace
  4. Come Sunday
  5. One Last Cry
  6. Intro
  7. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
  8. Through the Fire
  9. Song
  10. Someday We'll All Be Free