Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Desolation Sounds

Play It Again Sam


Released: 13th Apr 2015


purple / black LP + cd

Released: 13th Apr 2015


the 4th album from the hardcore stalwarts - These ten songs demand fans to redefine their notion of ‘heavy’ music; oppressive, intense and challenging, ‘Desolations Sounds’ transcends expectations.

Titled after an expanse of water in frontman Wade MacNeil’s native Canada, the band draw inspiration from and nod to off-kilter pop cultural references such as ‘Twin Peaks’ and ‘True Detective’. "'Desolation Sounds' drips with darkness...with the QOTSA edges to the title-track and shades of Nirvana on "Bonfire Season" and "Cease to Exist", as well as the brutal-pop pairing of "93 93" and "Death Valley Blue", this is a very different Gallows from even their 2012 self-titled effort" - rolling stone.

sam recommends: full of surprises, this dark album draws influence from unexpected places and subsequently manages to keep things heavy and accessible at the same time.

Desolation Sounds


  1. Mystic Death
  2. Desolation Sounds
  3. Leviathan Rot
  4. Chains
  5. Bonfire Season
  6. Leather Crown
  7. 93/93
  8. Death Valley Blue
  9. Cease To Exist
  10. Swan Song