Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Nashville Obsolete

acony records


Released: 18th Sep 2015

out of stock

it's been a while but gillian welch's other half finally returns with a follow up to his highly acclaimed (& much loved here) 2009 americana classic, 'a friend of a friend'.

Recorded on analogue tape, 'Nashville Obsolete' features 7 original compositions written by Gillian Welch & Dave Rawlings & the album highlights their brilliant musicianship along with that of Paul Kowert (Punch Brothers) on bass, Willie Watson on vocals and guitar & guest appearances from Brittany Haas (fiddle) & Jordan Tice (mandolin). "these are songs that largely prefer to unfurl at their unhurried leisure, with loping chords & autumnal echoes of 'harvest;-era neil young or dylan's late-60s output, chiefly 'john wesley harding'''s an album that's all the more beautiful for its lack of clutter...a rare & persuasive ability to tap into the ageless mythos of true american folk" 8/10 - uncut.

Nashville Obsolete


  1. The Weekend
  2. Short Haired Woman Blues
  3. The Trip
  4. Bodysnatchers
  5. The Last Pharaoh
  6. Candy
  7. Pilgrim (you Can't Go Home)