Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Skilled Mechanics

false idols / !K7 Records


Released: 22nd Jan 2016


lp + cd

Released: 22nd Jan 2016


Tricky embraces change, He keeps on moving; keeps on switching up a gear; keeps on mutating & keeps on evolving - It’s what keeps him vital as an artist.

& what keeps us hooked on his musical output. After recently moving to Berlin, the Bristol born musician, producer & rapper immediately started work on a new musical project called Skilled Mechanics. The group’s name is taken from a documentary about espionage, where it was used to describe “assassins who were sent abroad by the US to start revolutions & topple governments.” As Tricky notes, “I thought that was a great name for someone who was a killer basically. The name was so dark & cynical it just stuck with me.” His vocals are once again at the forefront, right where we like them & His main collaborators on the project are lifelong friend DJ Milo (of Bristol crew The Wild Bunch), Danish singer-songwriter Oh Land & frequent collaborator Francesca Belmonte.

Skilled Mechanics


  1. I'm Not Going
  2. Hero
  3. Don't Go
  4. Beijing To Berlin
  5. Diving Away
  6. Boy
  7. Bother
  8. How's Your Life
  9. Here My Dear
  10. We Begin
  11. Well
  12. Necessary
  13. Unreal