Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


New View



Released: 22nd Jan 2016


lp + download

Released: 22nd Jan 2016


the 3rd solo album from the ex-fiery furnace - These songs were recorded live to tape with simple instrumentation: drums, bass, Wurlitzer & 12-string acoustic guitar on almost every track.

These come courtesy of the band Icewater (Malcolm Perkins, Jonathan Rosen, Michael Rosen, Noah Hecht), with Dorian DeAngelo contributing a handful of well-placed guitar solos. Songs like 'Open Season' recall the Furnaces at their most magisterial. The wry, plainspoken 'Because I Asked You' builds on the style Friedberger first polished on her solo debut 'Last Summer'....& then there's 'A Long Walk', the sun-striped finale that lends a memorable afterglow to 'New View'. "the warm bubbling interplay of the music if infectious...the sort of economic & playful flourishes the band dispensed at their height" 4/5 - mojo, "full of trad sounds electrified by the off-kilter visions of an artist whose recognition as one of americana's finest voices is long overdue" 9/10 - uncut.


New View


  1. He Didn't Mention His Mother
  2. Open Season
  3. Sweetest Girl
  4. Your Word
  5. Because I Asked You
  6. Never Is A Long Time
  7. Cathy With The Curly Hair
  8. Two Versions Of Tomorrow
  9. All Known Things
  10. Does Turquoise Work?
  11. A Long Walk