Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Jaimeo Brown Transcendence

Work Songs



Released: 12th Feb 2016


resurrecting stories of workers and prisoners worldwide in a call to action on an album that deftly fuses the acoustic and the digital, compellingly connecting jazz and blues with contemporary rock, hip-hop and electronic music.

Jaimeo Brown Transcendence is the product of long-time collaboration between Brown and co-producer/guitarist Chris Sholar - both emerging from a generation that appreciates the jazz in hip hop, the artists with whom this duo has collaborated with speaks for itself: Brown, as drummer, has sat behind the skins for Stevie Wonder, and Carlos Santana, among others. Sholar's work as guitarist and producer has spanned the likes of Beyonce, Kanye West, Jay-Z, Frank Ocean, and A Tribe Called Quest. The digital tapestry that birthed 'Work Songs' also hosts several contributors including Jaleel Shaw and JD Allen on alto and tenor saxophone, respectively and legendary soul and blues vocalist Lester Chambers. a truly unique record.

Work Songs


  1. Hidden Angel
  2. Mississippi
  3. Lazarus
  4. Safflower
  5. Be So Glad
  6. Happy Serving
  7. 2113
  8. Moment Of Rest
  9. For Mama Lucy
  10. Stonemason
  11. Paterson
  12. The Valley