Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Tom Misch

Beat Tape 2



Released: 25th Mar 2016

out of stock

On Beat Tape 2, Tom has evolved his sound from its origins in Boom Bap hip-hop stylings of producers like J Dilla to encompass his diverse range of influences.

Tom's music finds the sweet spot between electronica, hip-hop and acoustic, predominantly linked by a single quality: soul. "It's about the feeling you get from the music that makes it soulful, and for me that comes down to the chords. If it's a nice, soulful chord progression that's what makes it soulful and gives you that warm feeling. A lot of Gospel music, J Dilla, Erykah Badu and Jazz – I find that very soulful. That's what I listen to, so I guess that comes out in my music."

Beat Tape 2


  1. The Journey
  2. Wander With Me
  3. Nightgowns
  4. Falafel
  5. Wake Up This Day
  6. In The Midst Of It All
  7. Come Back
  8. Your Love
  9. Hark
  10. Colours Of Freedom
  11. Beautiful Escape
  12. Home