Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

leyla mccalla

A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey

jazz village

indies only bonus edition cd with 2 extra tracks

Released: 27th May 2016

out of stock


Released: 27th May 2016


a vibrant & beguiling album by an artist adept in many musical fields - Following her stint with the Carolina Chocolate Drops & the critical success of her debut solo album, McCalla returns on a new label with her 2nd album.

Named after a book on Haitian music (originally from a Haitian proverb), the album focuses on Creole, Cajun & Haitian music & the centuries of culture & tradition therein. "It's an exhilarating thing, hearing a musical virtuoso explore her voice's unanticipated potential in all of the ways that Leyla McCalla does. She's a formally trained cellist who's loosened her playing from the strictures of classical technique, teasing out its more nimbly rhythmic qualities. She's a cunning interpreter and arranger, equally at ease with English, French and Haitian Creole, given to gracefully flitting around the beat with her feathery timbre and finespun vibrato" - npr.

A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey


  1. Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
  2. Les plats sont tous mis sur la table
  3. Far From Your Web
  4. Little Sparrow
  5. . Manman
  6. . Peze Café
  7. Bluerunner (Instrumental
  8. Vietnam
  9. Salangadou
  10. Let it Fall
  11. Fey-O
  12. Minis Azaka
  13. Tell Me What You Want (cd only bonus track)
  14. Jogue au Plombeau (cd only bonus track)