Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Thankful Villages Volume 1



Released: 3rd Jun 2016


lp + download

Released: 3rd Jun 2016


the English songwriter and ex-hefner frontman returns with an enthralling and ambitious album built around an equally enthralling and ambitious concept.

A thankful village is a village in Britain where every soldier returned alive from World War I. Hayman visited each of the 54 thankful villages and, focussing on village life, made a piece of music and a short film for each one. Some take the form of instrumentals inspired by the location, some are interviews with village residents set to music and others are new songs with lyrics or found local traditional songs. the first (of three) volumes of the project and contains the first 18 villages that Hayman visited during 2014/15 though the pieces do not necessarily refer to the Great War, rather they portray the village and its communities at many points in history.

Thankful Villages Volume 1


  1. Knowlton
  2. Culpho
  3. St Michael, South Elmham
  4. Puttenham
  5. Stoke Hammond
  6. Little Sodbury
  7. Rodney Stoke
  8. Holywell Lake
  9. Aisholt
  10. Stocklinch
  11. Strethall
  12. Welbury
  13. Scruton
  14. Chelwood
  15. Langton Herring
  16. Herodsfoot
  17. Butterton
  18. Bradbourne