Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Chalice Hymnal

temporary residence ltd.


Released: 17th Feb 2017


2LP + download

Released: 17th Feb 2017


after a long layoff, these Om/Holy Sons alumni reconvene, eschewing the riff-based heaviness of their earlier albums, and conjuring a nuanced, widescreen opus in its stead.

The perennial influences of mid-20th century Western film scores, obscure library music, and psychedelic krautrock are indelibly imprinted, but ‘Chalice Hymnal’ exudes an eerie patience in unfurling the many layers of its subtle details. the influence of those influential parent acts seeps in, but it’s cofounder Zak Riles guitar work that pushes Grails further into the deep end of some cinematic prog-folk odyssey, in either subtle strokes or heroic flashes of shredding. “For a band whose career arc has already encompassed staggering diversity, ornate experimentation as well as gritty depths, to say that ‘Chalice Hymnal’ rises above means quite a lot. This is that record though, affirming, worthy of the time, challenging. And if you’re not careful, a terribly satisfying listen the way progressive rock rarely is.” – new noise

Chalice Hymnal


  1. Chalice Hymnal
  2. Pelham
  3. Empty Chamber
  4. New Prague
  5. Deeper Politics
  6. Tough Guy
  7. Rebecca
  8. Deep Snow II
  9. The Moth & The Flame
  10. Thorns II
  11. After The Funeral