Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

mark lanegan band




Released: 28th Apr 2017


lp + download

Released: 28th Apr 2017


lanegan’s wistful melancholia feeds on rock, Americana, krautrock; whatever it needs to express these vital songs in his trademark aged-gravel voice: wonderful.

a more expansive progression from the moody Krautrock-influenced electronica textures of his recent albums, these songs have a pure quality like they were beamed directly from his psyche onto tape. “I don’t know if I’m just kidding myself or what, but it’s definitely easier now to make something that is satisfying to me.” there’s a significant up-shift in the swaggering powerlode of such keynote songs as ‘Nocturne’ & ‘Beehive’, while the lyrics’ tonal palette is more varied. ‘Beehive’, for instance, is a thrilling biker anthem, riffed up & reverberant to the hilt, but you can sense that Lanegan’s eyebrow is firmly arched throughout. ‘Old Swan’ is ‘Gargoyle's’ perfect finale: a pulsing incantation, an epic hymn to the life that's lived.




  1. Deaths Head Tattoo
  2. Nocturne
  3. Blue Blue Sea
  4. Beehive
  5. Sister
  6. Emperor
  7. Goodbye To Beauty
  8. Drunk On Destruction
  9. First Day Of Winter
  10. Old Swan