Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Black Angels

death song



Released: 21st Apr 2017



Released: 21st Apr 2017

out of stock

Natasha recommends: “these guys had dropped off my radar after recent releases but ‘Death Song’ is a straight up psych classic that’ll power you through any shitty day”

james 1 recommends: “all killer no filler”

a sharply honed elaboration on their signature sound: menacing fuzz guitar and cutting wordplay, steeped in a murky hallucinatory dream with killer riffs and genuinely memorable melodies.

austin’s leading psych-rock masters wrote and recorded the album in large part during the recent election cycle, the music on ‘Death Song’ serves as part protest, part emotional catharsis in a climate dominated by division, anxiety and unease. ‘Currency’, a strong contender for the heaviest song the band has ever put to wax, meditates on the governing role the monetary system plays in our lives, while slow-building psychedelic earworm ‘Half Believing’ questions the nature and confusing realities of devotion. Recorded between Seattle and Austin, ‘Death Song’ features production from Phil Ek (Father John Misty, Fleet Foxes, The Shins).


death song


  1. Currency
  2. I’d Kill For Her
  3. Half Believing
  4. Comanche Moon
  5. Hunt Me Down
  6. Grab As Much (As You Can)
  7. Estimate
  8. I Dreamt
  9. Medicine
  10. Death March
  11. Life Song