Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

various artists

Miracle Steps (Music from the Fourth World 1983 - 2017)



Released: 14th Apr 2017

out of stock

An astonishing, beguiling and utterly essential set of ambient workouts spanning the decades from the ever reliable optimo label, featuring Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe & Ariel Kalma, vulgata and, of course, Jon Hassell.

For the uninitiated, here’s an extract from Fergus Clark’s sleeve notes honing in on how the term Fourth World (an idea conjured up by Jon Hassell in the early 80s) might be defined - “What we have attempted to gather across this compilation is a body of work which we feel directly resonates with both the literal definition of ‘Fourth World’ music and indeed our own interpretation of this unique sonic vision; from the work of the late Jorge Reyes, a Mexican musician who combined pre-hispanic instruments with synthesisers and digital sampling, through to the work of organic ambient ensemble O Yuki Conjugate. There are tracks which utilise custom, home-made instruments and there are tracks built from scratch using the latest in digital technology, but the undercurrent tying each piece together is this deeply personal feeling of intrigue and mysterious elation. Strange and unparalleled, this feeling manages to eschew geographic borders and rigid genre movements in favour of something which manages to evoke an inner sanctum, a musical private place for both reflection and assessment. This is music grounded in nor the past nor the present, music which manages to sound futuristic yet remarkably nostalgic.

Miracle Steps (Music from the Fourth World 1983 - 2017)


  1. Jorge Reyes – Plight
  2. Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe & Ariel Kalma – Mille Voix
  3. Iona Fortune – White Tigress
  4. O Yuki Conjugate – Cloud Cover
  5. X.Y.R. – Middle Of Nowhere
  6. Jon Keliehor – Subcontinent
  7. David Cunningham – Blue River
  8. Larry Chernicoff – Woodstock, New York
  9. Sussan Deyhim & Richard Horowitz – Desert Equations (For Brion Gysin)
  10. Jon Hassell – Miracle Steps
  11. Vulgata – Ethel I
  12. Afro-Disiak – Tambours D’Eau
  13. Rapoon – The Same River Once
  14. Javier Segura – El Sueno Perdid