Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

death of lovers

the acrobat

Dais Records


Released: 24th Nov 2017


limited clear black splatter lp + download

Released: 24th Nov 2017

out of stock

this is hypnosis in the form of swirling post-punk, its mid-paced motorik pulse, delay-ed guitar figures and understated vocals a soothing paean to 80’s indie.

Thoughtful compositions weave driving synths, drums and guitars through lock-step rhythm and nostalgia before shattering into intricate and spacious instrumental breaks. There is a welcome complexity and depth to the tracks, which dance between moody and sweeping to sparkling and bright. While the tracks could easily have been included on the soundtrack to every one of your favourite 80s films, there is an undoubted freshness in the songwriting, too. RIYL new order, the smiths, a flock of seagulls, nothing, and whirr. “Death of Lovers incorporate glimmers of orchestral and dynamic energy that seems to come in waves. While ‘The Acrobat’ embarks on an 80s revival, the musical landscape acts as a vehicle for fresh ideas and modern overtones” 4* - sound renaissance

the acrobat


  1. Orphans Of The Smog
  2. Here Lies
  3. Ursula In B Major
  4. The Lowly People
  5. Perfect History
  6. Quai d' Orsay
  7. Divine Song
  8. The Absolute