Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Zara McFarlane




Released: 29th Sep 2017



Released: 29th Sep 2017


on her 3rd outing, this genre-straddling record takes us on a whirlwind trip through soulful jazz bombast, reggae, Kumina, calypso and nyabinghi, shaded with hints of the psychedelic – a loud and joyous album that can’t be ignored.

On Arise, Zara McFarlane returns to a buoyant UK jazz scene with a head-turning third album. Exploring the musical possibilities of British-Jamaican identity, it’s a cultural exchange that’s born of London’s current musical climate. Released on Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood Recordings, it sees her working with much-feted drummer and producer Moses Boyd. Sharing Caribbean family heritages, it’s a product of their joint exploration of the meeting points between jazz and the rhythms of Jamaica. Recommended if you like Cameron graves, laura mvula, or sampa the great.



  1. Ode To Kumina 01:01
  2. Pride 04:23
  3. Fussin' and Fightin' 05:05
  4. Peace Begins Within 04:09
  5. Stoke The Fire 04:28
  6. Freedom Chain 04:29
  7. Riddim Interlude 01:29
  8. Allies or Enemies 04:04
  9. In Between Worlds 04:24
  10. Silhouette feat. Shabaka Hutchings 05:24
  11. Fisherman 03:59
  12. Ode to Cyril 03:03