Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

young fathers

Cocoa Sugar

Ninja Tune


Released: 9th Mar 2018


lp + download

Released: 9th Mar 2018


limited indies-only blue lp + download

Released: 9th Mar 2018

out of stock

the Edinburgh trio return with their signature lo-fi, gospel-infused avant-pop with more clarity of expression and muscularity than we’ve ever heard from them before.

Written and recorded throughout 2017 in the band’s basement studio and HQ, the record sees them operating with a newfound purpose and vision, and is without doubt their most confident and complete statement to date. Just like their previous standalone 2017 single ‘Only God Knows’ (written for the ‘T2: trainspotting’ film and described by director Danny Boyle as “the heartbeat of the film”), ‘Lord’ showcased a compelling self-assuredness. fans of tv on the radio, Shabazz palaces and algiers should flock to this immediately. “typically unvarnished – there’s a homely primitivism here, perpetually teetering on all-out cacophony – ‘cocoa sugar’ is an audacious high-wire act which captures them at a potent peak” 4/5 – mojo.

***please note, the download code is on the inside of the inlay sleeve***

Cocoa Sugar


  1. See How
  2. Fee Fi
  3. In My View
  4. Turn
  5. Lord
  6. Tremolo
  7. Wow
  8. Border Girl
  9. Holy Ghost
  10. Wire
  11. Toy
  12. Picking You