Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

unknown mortal orchestra

Sex & Food



Released: 6th Apr 2018


black lp + download +

Released: 6th Apr 2018


limited indies-only Pink lp + bonus 12" + download

Released: 6th Apr 2018

out of stock

the effervescent kiwis sound somehow both heavier, funkier and more tender than ever before on their excellent fourth album, delivering a procession of memorable songs.

if ‘multi-love’ was their pop masterpiece, then ‘sex & food’ is its weird, loose and inviting companion piece. the opening half of the lp is downright gorgeous at times, revelling in gently warped synths and vocals, reminding us of fellow countryman and collaborator connan mockasin in its sun-baked repose. and then…riffs: ‘american guilt’ might just be the rock anthem of 2018, sounding like royal blood gone weird and psych. unknown mortal orchestra once again prove themselves to be a total one-off – let this one usher in your summer. “sickly funk meets heavy rock…the execution (…) is certainly impressive” 9/10 – uncut, “a smorgasbord of an album: one to be indulged, and one to be savoured” 8/10 – the skinny


Sex & Food


  1. A God Called Hubris
  2. Major League Chemicals
  3. Ministry of Alienation
  4. Hunnybee
  5. Chronos Feasts on His Children
  6. American Guilt
  7. The Internet of Love (That Way)
  8. Everyone Acts Crazy Nowadays
  9. This Doomsday
  10. How Many Zeros
  11. Not in Love We’re Just High
  12. If You’re Going to Break Yourself