Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Alasdair Roberts, Amble Skuse & David McGuiness

What News

Drag City


Released: 23rd Mar 2018



Released: 23rd Mar 2018


this is a startling and beautiful collection of eight traditional Scots ballads arranged for piano, voice and electronics and performed by this wonderfully assembled trio.

whereas Roberts is known for his forays into lofi alt folk, this album delves deep into the pathos, murder, deceit, and thwarted love of Scottish lore and reimagines it with new instrumental richness. featuring the amazing keys of david mcguinness and extraordinary electronic treatments of amble skuse, this album surprises and seduces in equal measure. riyl sam amidon, david Thomas broughton, Richard dawson and bonnie prince billy. “(Alasdair Roberts) has never sung better nor more fearlessly, yet with such subtlety, gravity and beauty. The quality and brilliance of the sound is like stars bursting in your bloodstream…a masterpiece; a powerful and intriguing album that demands and holds your attention” - Shirley Collins, “this is the real deal. The songs unravel slowly with patient attention paid to the guts of the Scottish folk tradition” 4.5* - soundblab

What News


  1. The Dun Broon Bride
  2. Johnny O’ The Brine
  3. Young Johnstone
  4. Rosie Anderson
  5. The Fair Flower Of Northumberland
  6. Clerk Colven
  7. Babylon
  8. Long A-Growing