Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Wolfgang Muthspiel, Ambrose Akinmusire, Brad Mehldau, Larry

Where The River Goes



Released: 5th Oct 2018


180g LP

Released: 5th Oct 2018


the virtuosic quintet team up to deliver an eclectic pilgrimage through punchy, triumphant improvisations and restrained passages of quiet beauty.

This record carries the story forward from Wolfgang Muthspiel’s highly-acclaimed ‘Rising Grace’ recording of 2016. reuniting the Austrian guitarist with Brad Mehldau, Ambrose Akinmusire and Larry Grenadier, heavy talents all, and bringing in the great Eric Harland on drums, this is Much more than an “all-star” gathering. the group plays as an ensemble with its own distinct identity, evident both in the interpretation of Muthspiel’s pieces and in the collective playing. The album features six compositions by Wolfgang Muthspiel and one by Brad Mehldau, plus group improvisation.

Where The River Goes


  1. Where The River Goes
  2. For Django
  3. Descendants
  4. Clearing
  5. Buenos Aires
  6. One Day My Prince Was Gone
  7. Blueshead
  8. Panorama