Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Black Light (20th Anniversary Edition)



Released: 23rd Nov 2018


180g 2lp + download

Released: 23rd Nov 2018


limited indies only clear 180g 2lp + download

Released: 23rd Nov 2018


turning 20 in 2018, this celebratory reissue includes 11 bonus tracks.

What was surprising about ‘The Black Light’ (and what set its architects apart from their indie rock peers) was the album’s unusual willingness to wade into the rapids of American and Mexican culture, fully immersing itself midstream. From the outset, with ‘Gypsy’s Curse’, the record combines guitar twang and flamenco flourishes; and by its end, it’s contrived a skillful and instinctive union of smoky bar room jazz, arthouse indie rock, and compelling mariachi brass in ‘Frontera’.

The Black Light (20th Anniversary Edition)


  1. Gypsy's Curse
  2. Fake Fur
  3. The Ride Pt.2
  4. Where Water Flows
  5. The Black Light
  6. Sideshow
  7. Chach
  8. Missing
  9. Minas De Cobre (For Better Metal)
  10. Over Your Shoulder
  11. Vinegaroon
  12. Trigger
  13. Sprawl
  14. Stray
  15. Old Man Waltz
  16. Bloodflow
  17. Frontera
  18. El Morro
  19. Man Goes Where Water Flows
  20. Glowing Heart Of The World
  21. Too Much Sprawl
  22. Rollbar
  23. Minas De Cobre (Extend-omix)
  24. Minas De Cobre (Spatial Mix)
  25. Minas De Cobre (Acoustic Mix)
  26. Lacquer
  27. Drape
  28. Bag Of Death