Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


on (2019 reissue)

music on vinyl


Released: 4th Jan 2019


The Britpop era brought the world a bunch of great records, including Echobelly’s second album On.

Often compared to Blondie and known for their influences from The Smiths, they recorded some melodic and intense alternative guitar rock for this record. The album reached number 4 in the UK charts and including their famous singles “King of the Kerb” (about homelessness and prostitution) and “Great Things” (about the future). Glen Johanssen is a superb musician and provided gritty, stained backdrops for Sonya Madan’s otherworldly vocals. Memorable hooks that lodge themselves ineradicably in the mind, it’s the power of Echobelly. On is a worthy follow-up to its predecessor and one of the better Britpop albums circulating in the mid-90s. Most prominent in Echobelly’s success formula is the combination of Sonya Madan’s unique voice and the outstanding lyrics. After a break of 5 years the band reunited in 2009 and since they’ve been playing a lot of concerts and recorded a new album in 2017, called Anarchy and Alchemy.

on (2019 reissue)


  1. Car Fiction
  2. King Of The Kerb
  3. Great Things
  4. Natural Animal
  5. Go Away
  6. Pantyhose And Roses
  7. Something Hot In A Cold Country
  8. Four Letter Word
  9. Nobody Like You
  10. In The Year
  11. Dark Therapy
  12. Worms And Angels