Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Ruts

The Crack (40th anniversary edition)


lp + download

Released: 8th Feb 2019


The Ruts

The fortieth anniversary of The Rut’s debut album sees ‘The Crack’ receive a remaster and re-issue, giving another chance to explore the record that contained the massive UK hit singles of ‘Babylon’s Burning’ and ‘Something That I Said’.

Very much fitting the era’s protest atmosphere – the white-reggae of Jah War, which was written in the aftermath of the Southall unrest and the over-use of force by the Metropolitan Police’s Special Patrol Group in the ‘70s, was also released as a single. Hard-hitting song S.U.S also deals with similar issues – a withering comment on the notorious stop and search laws. The album is both anthemic, with simmering roots reggae and dub, but seared by classic rock guitar leads, totally redefining the genre and combining to create an ominous atmosphere of paranoia and dread reflective of the times in which it was made.

The Crack (40th anniversary edition)


  1. Babylon's Burning
  2. Dope for Guns
  3. S.U.S.
  4. Something That I Said
  5. You're Just A…
  6. It Was Cold
  7. Savage Circle
  8. Jah War
  9. Criminal Mind
  10. Backbiter
  11. Out of Order
  12. Human Punk (live at The Marquee, London, 19 July 1979)