Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Laughing Matter

Drag City


Released: 19th Apr 2019



Released: 19th Apr 2019


radiohead fans need to hear this stunning album of experimental rock that blends widescreen rock with strands of ambience, psych fuzz and guitar noise.

Where ‘Plum’ held the tension of its five band members getting on their feet, these songs are concentrated and relaxed. The music is distilled and sculpted from an ash heap of collected improvisations, riven with audio-verite; the methods and instrumentation are traditional handmade rock ‘n’ roll. Yet the unorthodox arrangements of “Scarecrow”, the joyous embrace of pastiche and disruption on “Walkie Talkie”, the radical eclecticism of shapes and approaches on “Thin Air”, the ascendant choruses of “Wonder” are all decidedly contemporary. Wand are a precision instrument, a band that probes and teases style, genre, trope and anachronism into a fascinating, textured material. “californians show some street spirit on epic fifth” 8/10 – uncut.

Laughing Matter


  1. Scarecrow
  2. xoxo
  3. Bubble
  4. High Planes Drifter
  5. Walkie Talkie
  6. Thin Air
  7. Hare
  8. Wonder
  9. Evening Star
  10. Tortoise
  11. Rio Grande
  12. Airplane
  13. Lucky's Sight
  14. Wonder II
  15. Jennifer's Gone