Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Sampa The Great 

The Return 

Ninja Tune


Released: 13th Sep 2019


limited indies-only 140g transparent green & red 2lp + download

Released: 13th Sep 2019

out of stock

140g 2lp + download

Released: 13th Sep 2019


drawing from classic hip-hop and southern african traditions, her debut lp is a dynamic record steeped in history and cool in equal measure.

Built on four years of personal and musical soul-searching, it’s an assured statement; the product of meaningful musical connections and of Sampa having to redefine her self-identity away from the comforts of family and old friends. This will appeal to fans of lauryn hill, Fatima and sudan archives. “she has a great ear for a hook, while the album’s soft underbelly draws on balmy ‘80s boogie and dreamy ‘70s soul to inspire its inspirational messages.” 4/5 – mojo. 

The Return 


  1. Mwana (feat. Mwanje Tembo, Theresa Mutale Tembo, Sunburnt Soul Choir)
  2. Freedom
  3. Wake Up (Interlude)
  4. Time’s Up (feat. Krown)
  5. Grass Is Greener
  6. Dare To Fly (feat. Ecca Vandal)
  7. Any Day (feat. Whosane)
  8. OMG
  9. Light It Up (Interlude)
  10. Final Form
  11. Heaven (feat. Whosane)
  12. Diamond In The Ruff (feat. Thando, Krown)
  13. Leading Us Home
  14. Summer (feat. Steam Down)
  15. Brand New (feat. SILENTJAY)
  16. Give Love (Interlude)
  17. The Return (feat. Thando, Jace XL, Alien, Whosane)
  18. Don’t Give Up (feat. Mandarin Dreams)
  19. Made Us Better (feat. Blue Lab Beats, Boadi, Lori)