Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

the brand new heavies


acid jazz


Released: 6th Sep 2019


gold 2LP + download

Released: 6th Sep 2019


Can it really be thirty years since The Brand New Heavies first sashayed into the public eye with a romantic’s heart, a hedonist’s spirit and a Superfly sensibility?.

A heady cocktail of Chic-style funk-pop, sunshine grooves and scorched soul balladry, the release of TBNH sees The Brand New Heavies writing a new chapter in what has been an illustrious journey whilst also marking a return to their spiritual home, Acid Jazz Records. Summed up by its cover artwork- shot in the suitably louche environs of ultra-hip nightspot Annabel’s – Simon explains with a smile; “It’s a bit clubby, a little bit sleazy, with a bit of luxury and a smidgen of street.”



  1. Beautiful - w/ Beverley Knight
  2. Stupid Love - w/ Angela Ricci
  3. Just Believe In You - w/ Siedah Garrett
  4. Getaway - w/ N’Dea Davenport
  5. Heat - w/ Honey Larochelle
  6. The Funk Is Back - w/ Simon Bartholomew
  7. Together - w/ Angie Stone
  8. These Walls – Brand New Heavies and N’Dea Davenport * produced by Mark Ronson
  9. It’s My Destiny - w/ Siedah Garrett
  10. Wired Up - w/ N’Dea Davenport
  11. Dance It Out - w/ Angela Ricci
  12. Dontcha Wanna - w/ Laville
  13. Get On The Right Side - w/ Angela Ricci