Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.



Clay pipe music

turqouise lp + download

Released: 4th Oct 2019

£17.99 £11.99

out of stock

Inspired by in part by Alfred Watkins words and photographs of Herefordshire, the record also harks back to a period in Vic’s youth spent exploring the abandoned houses and factories on the fringes of his home town; the in-between places where nature either takes back, or loses its grip.

On a recent visit home, he found a new road cutting through the fields he had played in as a child, and realised that some of the older pathways and lanes had become lost or overgrown. It is a record of trails, roads and holloways, that lead you out along the river, through ruined arches and over railway lines, past crumbling stately homes and back into the centre of town. The album was recorded with 1980s style ‘tracker’ software, and a collection of instruments that includes alto recorders, school glockenspiels, a Roland Juno 60 and a Korg Monopoly. He manages to merge the wow and flutter of orchestral sounds from vintage British cinema documentaries, with Freddie Phillips style acoustic guitars and sequenced analogue synths. ‘Inner Roads and Outer Paths’ is a lush beautiful record that magically captures the Hereford landscape of Vic’s youth



  1. Bric-à-brac Shop
  2. Evacuees At Arrow House
  3. Thistle and Briar
  4. A Nest in the Warehouse Roof
  5. Inner Roads And Outer Paths
  6. The Last Days Of The Great House
  7. Broken Spires And Ruined Arches
  8. Holloways
  9. Paths Beyond the Towns
  10. Following the River
  11. End Of The Branch Line
  12. The Fair Arrives
  13. Earthworks And Trackways