Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


farewell farewell (40th anniversay edition)



Released: 19th Jul 2019


out of stock

In Spring 1979, after twelve years and numerous line-up changes, Fairport Convention decided to call it a day.

Led by sole-remaining founder member Simon Nicol, the band, featuring Dave Pegg, Dave Swarbrick and Bruce Rowland, embarked on what they believed was the band’s ‘farewell tour’ of the UK. Recorded at Derby Assembly Rooms, Birmingham University and Southampton University, the band performed some of their best-loved songs, including their anthem, Richard Thompson’s “Meet On The Ledge”. Forty years later, the influential band is still touring with Nicol and Pegg still at the helm! The bonus tracks feature three more recordings from the tour, plus the 1980 studio single “Rubber Band”. The booklet is annotated by Alan Robinson.

farewell farewell (40th anniversay edition)


  1. MattyGroves / High Road To Linton
  2. Orange Blossom Special
  3. John Lee
  4. Bridge Over The River Ash
  5. Sir Patrick Spens
  6. Mr Lacey
  7. Walk Awhile
  8. Bonny Black Hare
  9. The Journeyman’s Grace
  10. Meet On The Ledge
  11. Rubber Band [studio single]
  12. The Hen’s March Through The Midden/ The Four Poster Bed
  13. Flatback Caper
  14. Dirty Linen